Archive for August, 2018

GHOSTLY ACTS Going to Audiobook

Friday, August 24th, 2018

It’s always fun to listen to talented narrators reading my books and hear their audio interpretation of the story. When I’m writing a story I hear the characters in my mind and they all have different voices–no, not those voices some people hear. One of the auditioning narrators for GHOST ACTS, my award-winning YA ghost romance, had a wonderful voice and very dramatic pacing. I chose him! And the audiobook is in production. I’ll let you know when it’s available. Here’s another really great review of GHOSTS ACTS:

Romance Foretold Book Reviews, Rating: 4 Crowns by Vicky Williams

“In search of a good young adult romance brimming with thrills and chills of the paranormal kind? If so, grab a front row seat to GHOSTLY ACTS by Melinda Rucker Haynes. This award-winning novel is an entertaining and insightful read for teens and adults alike. GHOSTLY ACTS is a funny, scary and heart-warming book with a charming cast of very human characters.”

Fun! Mmmmmmmmmmmm

 

 

THE HAUNTING OF JOSH WESTON Available Worldwide August 20, 2018–TODAY!

Monday, August 20th, 2018

 

Melinda’s new multiple award-winning YA paranormal thriller, THE HAUNTING OF JOSH WESTON, from    The Wild Rose Press is available in eBook and paperback at retailers worldwide. An audio book is coming soon!

 

Blurb After the death of his cousin and his father’s subsequent death in Afghanistan, former star athlete and gifted student, Josh Weston and his mother move to a desolate ranch in the Arizona desert. Josh blames himself for his father’s death and for the shooting of his best friend. Besides giving up on everything he used be great at, he is relentlessly bullied at his new school.Unable to see any way out of his problems, he tries to end it all one moonlit night. Two of the mystical ranch’s ghosts stop him and pull him into dangerous tests of courage and intellect. Josh must learn to draw on his strengths and confront the haunted past that threatens his life and possible future with the beautiful and daring girl next door.

Reviews

Rated: 5 STARS

 “Magical and moving. The Haunting of Josh Weston by Melinda Rucker Haynes is a powerful YA paranormal tale that offers lots of emotional insights and a message of hope to anyone who is suffering insecurities and bad memories. The action is quick-paced as the tension between Josh and the bully builds, but the relationship between Josh and Pete provides a timeless feeling and a sense of love and support that Josh’s mother just can’t provide by herself. With a subtle romantic element, there is just the right balance between the paranormal and the everyday to make the story quite believable and uplifting. Excellent story – kept me glued to the pages! The Haunting of Josh Weston is certainly well worth reading.

 Melinda Hill, Readers’ Favorite Book Reviews

Rated: 5 STARS

“Move over, Harry Potter, there’s a new kid in town—Josh Weston. In the tradition of Roald Dahl and J.K. Rowling, author Melinda Rucker Haynes taps into every kid’s nightmare (bullies who make life hell) and fantasy (making sure they get their due). The reader wants to shout ‘hurray’ at the end of the book. Issues relevant to today’s teen—death, divorce, relocation—are handled in a sensitive manner, validating the feelings of isolation, guilt, and despair. The old prospector, who appears and disappears mysteriously, adds levity while dispensing wisdom. The preaching is left to Mom, who understands better than Josh can imagine. It’s easy to see why this book has twice been nominated Romance Writers of America Golden Heart finalist for Best Young Adult novel.”

Diane Burton, Scribes World Reviews

Rated: HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for ages 8-100!

“ … a twice-nominated RWA Golden Heart Award Finalist for Best Young Adult … full of danger, excitement, ghosts, and some trials of a young boy turning into a young man, the hard way.”

Détra Fitch, HUNTRESS BOOK REVIEWS

 

Mmmmmmmelinda Reveals Real Interests and Hobbies in a New Social Media Bio

Wednesday, August 15th, 2018

Before becoming a multiple award-winning, best-selling fiction author, Melinda Rucker Haynes worked as an adult education research project director and published nonfiction. She jokes she learned to write fiction as a grant writer who moonlighted as a corporate trainer of fascinating people working at an area in the Nevada desert that didn’t exist. After gypsying around the world, living in four foreign countries—most recently Washington D.C.—Melinda continues to search out enchanted stories beyond her imaginary magical story pool in ghost towns, massive cities, vast night skies, and mysterious ancient sites throughout the world. Her interests and hobbies include magical story pool fishing and encouraging her citrus trees, fairy gardens, and fellow magical thinking enthusiasts. Melinda also enjoys frequent fantasy flying, past lives exploration and opus magnum experimentation.

 Her young adult paranormal novels, Ghostly Acts and The Haunting of Josh Weston (Escondido Magic Series) are multiple award winners as is her paranormal romance thriller, The Eternal Trust, the first book of the Soul Searchers Series for The Wild Rose Press. Melinda is currently working on her new and already award-winning YA paranormal, The Boyfriend App, and Josh Weston’s second adventure in the Escondido Magic Series, coming in 2019. The second Soul Searchers book, Breach of Trust is also 2019 release. A menopausal vampire has been doing hot laps in Melinda’s magical story pool and her tale, BITTEN: Confessions of a Menopausal Vampire is coming soon.


Ain’t it just, Mmmmmmmmmmmmelinda