The Haunting of Josh Weston

Back to Books


The Haunting of Josh Weston

OneBookAZ 2016 Young Adult eBook Winner

Synopsis * Awards * Excerpt * Reviews

Purchase from Amazon

Synopsis

Ghosts of the past can seriously haunt the future . . .

Former star athlete and gifted student, fifteen-year-old Josh Weston and his mother move to a desolate ranch in the Arizona desert after his father is killed in Afghanistan. Josh blames himself for his father’s death and for the shooting of his best friend. Besides failing in everything he used be good at, Josh is relentlessly stalked by a nasty psycho at his new school. Unable to see any way out of his escalating problems, Josh tries to end it all one moonlit night. A cantankerous old prospector and his evil white burro suddenly appear, forcing Josh to join their dangerous, spooky escapades. If he has any chance of survival, Josh must learn to draw on his strengths and deal with his haunted past that threatens his future.



Awards

OneBookAZ 2016 Young Adults eBook WINNER

Twice-Nominated, Romance Writers of America Golden Heart Award

EPIC Best Young Adult Novel EPPIE Nominee



Excerpt

Coming Soon!



Reviews

Rated: 5 STARS

“Move over, Harry Potter, there’s a new kid in town—Josh Weston. In the tradition of Roald Dahl and J.K. Rowling, author Melinda Rucker Haynes taps into every kid’s nightmare (bullies who make life hell) and fantasy (making sure they get their due). The reader wants to shout ‘hurray’ at the end of the book. Issues relevant to today’s teen—death, divorce, relocation—are handled in a sensitive manner, validating the feelings of isolation, guilt, and despair. The old prospector, who appears and disappears mysteriously, adds levity while dispensing wisdom. The preaching is left to Mom, who understands better than Josh can imagine. It’s easy to see why this book has twice been nominated Romance Writers of America Golden Heart finalist for Best Young Adult novel.”



Rated: HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for ages 8-100!

“ … a twice-nominated RWA Golden Heart Award Finalist for Best Young Adult … full of danger, excitement, ghosts, and some trials of a young boy turning into a young man, the hard way.”



Reviewer Rating: 4 STARS, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

“This first of a series is a well-written, fast paced story. Lively characters, and action with lots of twists and turns, make this a really good read.”



Author Recommendations:


"Melinda Rucker Haynes blasts onto the scene with a heart-stopping tale too engrossing to put down. If you miss this one, you’ve missed something special!"