Archive for the ‘Writing Contests’ Category

Melinda Sells Out at PNWA!

Thursday, September 20th, 2018

Melinda Sells Out!

I’m a longtime member of Pacific Northwest Writers Association. PNWA is one of the largest regional writers organizations, and over five hundred writers attended the annual conference last week. This year’s literary  contest had a thousand entries in twelve categories.  I try to attend the annual conference where I serve on panels, teach workshops and hang out with talented writers. I also enter one of my new projects in the literary contest to try out the opening on reader/judges. My new YA thriller, The Boyfriend App, won a finalist award in the Romance category. It was my pleasure to meet two Wild Rose Press authors, Christine Grabowski and Kerry Blaisdale, and sit the Autograph Party with them. The picture of me behind my two award-winning YA paranormals on the left is the “selling out” I’m referring to. It was a grand party and I had an autographing good time!

FUN! Mmmmmmmmmmmmelinda

 

 

 

THE HAUNTING OF JOSH WESTON Available Worldwide August 20, 2018–TODAY!

Monday, August 20th, 2018

 

Melinda’s new multiple award-winning YA paranormal thriller, THE HAUNTING OF JOSH WESTON, from    The Wild Rose Press is available in eBook and paperback at retailers worldwide. An audio book is coming soon!

 

Blurb After the death of his cousin and his father’s subsequent death in Afghanistan, former star athlete and gifted student, Josh Weston and his mother move to a desolate ranch in the Arizona desert. Josh blames himself for his father’s death and for the shooting of his best friend. Besides giving up on everything he used be great at, he is relentlessly bullied at his new school.Unable to see any way out of his problems, he tries to end it all one moonlit night. Two of the mystical ranch’s ghosts stop him and pull him into dangerous tests of courage and intellect. Josh must learn to draw on his strengths and confront the haunted past that threatens his life and possible future with the beautiful and daring girl next door.

Reviews

Rated: 5 STARS

 “Magical and moving. The Haunting of Josh Weston by Melinda Rucker Haynes is a powerful YA paranormal tale that offers lots of emotional insights and a message of hope to anyone who is suffering insecurities and bad memories. The action is quick-paced as the tension between Josh and the bully builds, but the relationship between Josh and Pete provides a timeless feeling and a sense of love and support that Josh’s mother just can’t provide by herself. With a subtle romantic element, there is just the right balance between the paranormal and the everyday to make the story quite believable and uplifting. Excellent story – kept me glued to the pages! The Haunting of Josh Weston is certainly well worth reading.

 Melinda Hill, Readers’ Favorite Book Reviews

Rated: 5 STARS

“Move over, Harry Potter, there’s a new kid in town—Josh Weston. In the tradition of Roald Dahl and J.K. Rowling, author Melinda Rucker Haynes taps into every kid’s nightmare (bullies who make life hell) and fantasy (making sure they get their due). The reader wants to shout ‘hurray’ at the end of the book. Issues relevant to today’s teen—death, divorce, relocation—are handled in a sensitive manner, validating the feelings of isolation, guilt, and despair. The old prospector, who appears and disappears mysteriously, adds levity while dispensing wisdom. The preaching is left to Mom, who understands better than Josh can imagine. It’s easy to see why this book has twice been nominated Romance Writers of America Golden Heart finalist for Best Young Adult novel.”

Diane Burton, Scribes World Reviews

Rated: HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for ages 8-100!

“ … a twice-nominated RWA Golden Heart Award Finalist for Best Young Adult … full of danger, excitement, ghosts, and some trials of a young boy turning into a young man, the hard way.”

Détra Fitch, HUNTRESS BOOK REVIEWS

 

Mmmmmmmelinda Reveals Real Interests and Hobbies in a New Social Media Bio

Wednesday, August 15th, 2018

Before becoming a multiple award-winning, best-selling fiction author, Melinda Rucker Haynes worked as an adult education research project director and published nonfiction. She jokes she learned to write fiction as a grant writer who moonlighted as a corporate trainer of fascinating people working at an area in the Nevada desert that didn’t exist. After gypsying around the world, living in four foreign countries—most recently Washington D.C.—Melinda continues to search out enchanted stories beyond her imaginary magical story pool in ghost towns, massive cities, vast night skies, and mysterious ancient sites throughout the world. Her interests and hobbies include magical story pool fishing and encouraging her citrus trees, fairy gardens, and fellow magical thinking enthusiasts. Melinda also enjoys frequent fantasy flying, past lives exploration and opus magnum experimentation.

 Her young adult paranormal novels, Ghostly Acts and The Haunting of Josh Weston (Escondido Magic Series) are multiple award winners as is her paranormal romance thriller, The Eternal Trust, the first book of the Soul Searchers Series for The Wild Rose Press. Melinda is currently working on her new and already award-winning YA paranormal, The Boyfriend App, and Josh Weston’s second adventure in the Escondido Magic Series, coming in 2019. The second Soul Searchers book, Breach of Trust is also 2019 release. A menopausal vampire has been doing hot laps in Melinda’s magical story pool and her tale, BITTEN: Confessions of a Menopausal Vampire is coming soon.


Ain’t it just, Mmmmmmmmmmmmelinda

WELCOME to MELINDARUCKERHAYNES.COM

Friday, June 1st, 2018

 

We’ve been busy here at MELINDARUCKERHAYNES.COM for the past few weeks in re-design. While I’ve been in edits with my two new paranormal YA thrillers for The Wild Rose Press my webmistress Stacy Chitwood has been working her magic here on the site. I especially love our new rotating headers of illuminated photographs that I took at the Japanese Gardens in Seattle and at Lake Powell, Arizona last fall. Keep watching for new additions to the rotation.

Please check out Mmmmm for my personal story that’s undergoing constant replotting and rewrites. Click on GALLERY for a retrospective of past book covers and other interesting and some quite strange pictures. You’ll find fun MMMMVIDEOS there, too. The BOOKS page features my backlist novels and new books, with links to their pages which contain lots of info, reviews, plus the Story Behind the Story–what inspired me to write the book. GoodWordy is a page/website under continuing development for my nonfiction projects and creative development tools and processes.

NEW    NEW    NEW    NEW    NEW

I’m thrilled to announce that my first YA Paranormal Romantic Thriller and Romance Writers of America Golden Heart Award Winner, GHOSTLY ACTSis a June 6, 2018 worldwide release in paperback and eBook from The Wild Rose Press, and coming soon in audiobook. I love this fun ghost romance for all ages. Check out the book’s page for Ghostly’s Story Behind the Story and the GALLERY for a previous covers retrospective. There might be a Ghostly Acts Cover Story MMMMVIDEO, too.

AWARD-WINNING YA PARANORMAL THRILLER

AVAILABLE NOW FOR PRE-ORDER AT AMAZON and THE WILD ROSE PRESS

Available at Fine Retailers Worldwide in eBook and Paperback June 6, 2018

“First love can be wonderfully thrilling but extremely dangerous, especially with a ghost.”

Have You Written Anything Important I’ve Read?

Wednesday, April 25th, 2018

I have six traditionally published novels in the genres of romance, paranormal thriller, and young adult paranormal. My books have won sixteen writing/literary awards. Yet, sometimes when I meet someone and say I’m a novelist, I get this silly question: “Have you written anything important that I’ve read?” On a tour bus in Hawaii, I answered that question with—“Yes, War and Peace!” That felt good. Of course, no one mentioned that I didn’t look like a dead Russian aristocrat, which just goes to show no one on the bus had read the book, or perhaps hadn’t even heard of it. When I got that silly question from my new acquaintance, I cocked my head and asked my usual, “How would I know that?” She answered with a sly smile, “You know what I mean.” Yes, unfortunately, I do. My name isn’t J.K. Rowling or Nora Roberts or Scott Pratt. So if “important” book translates only to “best seller” for you, I probably haven’t written anything you’ve read.

3d-contest-smartsBut hang on, I’m working on two new books coming soon, Contest Smarts: Writing Contest Winning Strategies, a non-fiction how-to, and a fun women’s fable entitled Bitten: Confessions of a Menopausal Vampire, which my publisher of GHOSTLY ACTS has already said she wants! With these two sure best-sellers, maybe I’ll have a new answer to “Have you written anything important that I’ve read?”

It’s all fun! Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmelinda