Posts Tagged ‘romance’

Need A Vacation? Start Here!

Wednesday, April 8th, 2020

 

Hey, enough with this Staycation we’ve all got going on. What we need is a real vacation or the next best thing–a great story to sweep us into fun in the sun, romance, adventure and a great time with sparkling, witty, sexy and even some dangerous people who just might be trying to kill us.

My new romantic suspense novel, A BUSINESS AFFAIR, is available today in eBook and trade paperback at all online booksellers.

I LOVE THIS BOOK!

Hope you will too, Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmelinda

New Romantic Suspense–A BUSINESS AFFAIR

Wednesday, February 5th, 2020

Available in eBook and Paperback April 8, 2020 at all Online Booksellers.

 

Financier Alyn Templeman has two choices. She must bail out her stepbrother’s business or shut it down for good. She’s used to dealing with high-class clients, but the sexy and former Navy fighter pilot Matt Barrett, is a class of his own. He thinks she’s there to give him a loan, but his sweet-talking has her mind on other matters. Accidents at his company evolve into attempted murder and treachery. Matt, who is falling fast for Alyn, needs to keep her safe. Yet, neither one knows who to trust. When it comes down to business or love will they get a chance to make it work, or will betrayal bankrupt their relationship?

Mmmmm’s Note: A BUSINESS AFFAIR is set near my childhood home in northwestern Arizona in Bullhead City and Laughlin, NV on the Colorado River. It was really fun to make two great characters miserable on a dangerous float trip down the Colorado River, and maybe fall in love if they live long enough. The float trip in the story is one I actually went on with my brother and four others, none of whom have any resemblance AT ALL to the financier and hot pilot in the book. It’s all pure fiction–except the raft sinking out of the first set of rapids, being stranded on a boiling rocky slope for hours until my brother came up with a very clever repair on the raft and we headed downriver through the next sets of rapids and safely home–that really happened.

THE HAUNTING OF JOSH WESTON Available Worldwide August 20, 2018–TODAY!

Monday, August 20th, 2018

 

Melinda’s new multiple award-winning YA paranormal thriller, THE HAUNTING OF JOSH WESTON, from    The Wild Rose Press is available in eBook and paperback at retailers worldwide. An audio book is coming soon!

 

Blurb After the death of his cousin and his father’s subsequent death in Afghanistan, former star athlete and gifted student, Josh Weston and his mother move to a desolate ranch in the Arizona desert. Josh blames himself for his father’s death and for the shooting of his best friend. Besides giving up on everything he used be great at, he is relentlessly bullied at his new school.Unable to see any way out of his problems, he tries to end it all one moonlit night. Two of the mystical ranch’s ghosts stop him and pull him into dangerous tests of courage and intellect. Josh must learn to draw on his strengths and confront the haunted past that threatens his life and possible future with the beautiful and daring girl next door.

Reviews

Rated: 5 STARS

 “Magical and moving. The Haunting of Josh Weston by Melinda Rucker Haynes is a powerful YA paranormal tale that offers lots of emotional insights and a message of hope to anyone who is suffering insecurities and bad memories. The action is quick-paced as the tension between Josh and the bully builds, but the relationship between Josh and Pete provides a timeless feeling and a sense of love and support that Josh’s mother just can’t provide by herself. With a subtle romantic element, there is just the right balance between the paranormal and the everyday to make the story quite believable and uplifting. Excellent story – kept me glued to the pages! The Haunting of Josh Weston is certainly well worth reading.

 Melinda Hill, Readers’ Favorite Book Reviews

Rated: 5 STARS

“Move over, Harry Potter, there’s a new kid in town—Josh Weston. In the tradition of Roald Dahl and J.K. Rowling, author Melinda Rucker Haynes taps into every kid’s nightmare (bullies who make life hell) and fantasy (making sure they get their due). The reader wants to shout ‘hurray’ at the end of the book. Issues relevant to today’s teen—death, divorce, relocation—are handled in a sensitive manner, validating the feelings of isolation, guilt, and despair. The old prospector, who appears and disappears mysteriously, adds levity while dispensing wisdom. The preaching is left to Mom, who understands better than Josh can imagine. It’s easy to see why this book has twice been nominated Romance Writers of America Golden Heart finalist for Best Young Adult novel.”

Diane Burton, Scribes World Reviews

Rated: HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for ages 8-100!

“ … a twice-nominated RWA Golden Heart Award Finalist for Best Young Adult … full of danger, excitement, ghosts, and some trials of a young boy turning into a young man, the hard way.”

Détra Fitch, HUNTRESS BOOK REVIEWS